Quotes

Book Quotes – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

I’ve always been a big fan of quotes. I remember that I use to keep a pile of cue cards on my desk that I would write quotes down on while I was reading. Since I’m a fan of quotes, I’ve decided to create a segment on my blog to highlight some of my favourite quotes.

I recently finished rereading Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone and there are so many amazing quotes in this book and here’s a list of a few of my favourites and why I like them.

  • “There are all kinds of courage,” said Dumbledore, smiling. “It takes a great deal of bravery to stand up to our enemies, but just as much to stand up to our friends.”
  • “Call him Voldemort, Harry. Always use the proper name for things. Fear of a name increase fear of the thing itself.”
  • “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live, remember that.”
  • “The truth.” Dumbledore sighed. “It is a beautiful and terrible thing, and should therefore be treated with caution.”
  • “There is no good and evil, there is only power and those too weak to seek it.”
  • “Books! And cleverness! There are more important things – friendship and bravery and – oh Harry – be careful!”
  • “I hope you’re pleased with yourselves. We could all have been killed – or worse, expelled. Now if you don’t mind, I’m going to bed.”

One of the reasons why I like a lot of these quotes is because they’re true. Dumbledore was a very wise wizard and a lot of the things he said apply to the muggle world. It’s true, it’s difficult to stand up to your friends and sometimes the truth can be a terrible thing, especially when you’re not ready to hear it.I like the last two quotes because they show how Hermione evolved during the first book. At the beginning, she was concerned with academics and that’s why being expelled is worse than being killed. By the end of the book, she’s evolved and come to realize that books and cleverness are important, but friendship and bravery are more important. 

I like the last two quotes because they show how Hermione evolved during the first book. At the beginning, she was concerned with only academics and that’s why being expelled is worse than being killed. By the end of the book, she’s evolved and come to realize that books and cleverness are important, but friendship and bravery are more important. These quotes can be tied in with Dumbledore’s line about dwelling on dreams. Sometimes people become so focused on things, whether it’s academics, careers, dreams, that they forget about what’s happening now and the world around them. People should take some time to be like Hermione and grow to realize that there are more important things in life.

What’s your favourite quote from Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

 

Leave a Reply

